Die 1970er Jahre

The 1970s would be a decade marked by terrorism, and this would have great significance for the Kampfschwimmer Company.

On 5 September 1972, eight members of the Palestinian terrorist organization Black September entered the Olympic Village in Munich. They took eleven hostages. All hostages died during the course of a rescue attempt by the Bavarian police. Three of the terrorists survived and were taken into custody. On 26 September 1972, just 21 days after the events in Munich, the second German special operations force was founded: Grenzschutzgruppe 9 (Border Security Forces Group 9), abbreviated as GSG9. [The paramilitary Border Security Forces are an arm of the German Interior Ministry. They are classified as a federal law enforcement agency. Therefore GSG9 is authorized to operate domestically, while the Kampfschwimmer and other military units are prohibited from conducting armed missions on German soil.]

Some time after GSG9 was formed a BGS delegation, including the unit’s first commander, BGS Lt. Col. Ulrich Wegener, visited the Kampfschwimmer Company for orientation. They enquired about missions, equipment and tactics. Wegener wanted to include a maritime component in GSG9. The Kampfschwimmer Company provided significant support for the development of GSG9’s amphibious platoon. Ever since, GSG9 sends members to the Kampfschwimmer training center in Eckernförde every year to receive tactical dive training. At least once a year GSG9 and the Kampfschwimmer Company conduct a joint anti-terrorism exercise on the water.  The administrative basis for this cooperation was laid in 1980 when the Interior Minister and the Defense Minister agreed that their respective ministries would provide one another with training and materiel support.

Another event would provide a significant impetus to the naval commando unit’s development. The German fleet commander spent an entire day visiting the Kampfschwimmer Company to get a complete picture of their capabilities (NATO had requested information from the German navy regarding the Kampfschwimmers’ operational capabilities).  As a result, the German naval commandos began to participate more intensively in NATO exercises. Frequent training partners were the Danish, British and French counterparts. Increasingly, the Kampfschwimmer also participated in joint training with the US Army’s 10th Special Force Group stationed in Bad Tölz in southern Germany, and especially with the US Navy SEALs, who maintained a detachment on Crete.

The Germans profited greatly from the Americans’ experience in combined land operations, i.e. approaching from the sea or per river in order to conduct operations on land, as was practiced in Vietnam. The first SEALs visited Eckernförde/Carlshöhe in 1973. One of these was Pete Wikul who retired from active duty in 2009 as a Navy Captain.  The SEALs, for their part, were most interested on training for tactical underwater operations, which they had neglected during the Vietnam War. The US naval commandos were very impressed by the German LAR II rebreather system produced by Dräger. As a result both SEAL teams were equipped with the device. A Personnel Exchange Program with SEAL Team 2 was initiated In 1975. It is still in effect today. In addition, SEAL Teams and Special Boat Teams visit Eckernförde at least once a year.

pic01
pic02
pic05
pic06

Needing more space, the Company relocated from the Carlshöhe Kaserne into the 1960’s era Eckernförde-Nord Kaserne on 1 October 1974. In their new building the Company was able to add a training platoon, while the command section added a physician and a parachute rigger. With this reorganization the company became fully responsible for training new naval commandos. This was facilitated by the construction of a new indoor dive-training facility which enabled co-location of the entire unit and its functions at one base. The mission was also redefined and clarified  to include: commando operations against ships, docks, harbor facilities, locks, etc., when tactically significant for the Navy; beach reconnaissance, including inland reconnaissance; special combat operations above and below water and on land.

The 1970s were a decade of reorientation for the Company. Mastering land combat techniques set the stage for a new, more active role within the German Navy’s operational planning. The Kampfschwimmer were designated as an “instrument of naval warfare”; in that capacity they were to receive offensive missions. The mission profile, organization and capabilities were modified to meet the demands of modern Special Operations Forces. The fleet had finally taken note of the Kampfschwimmer, who were now to be employed as an offensive naval arm. The Comany was assigned wartime targets in case of an East-West confrontation. For the most part these targets were located on the territory of the former GDR (German Democratic Republic or “East Germany”). The Kampfschwimmer were tasked with missions which required on-the-spot assessment by the operators (otherwise a fighter-bomber could have achieved the same results). The designated targets lay up to 30 kilometers inland, which had to be traversed covertly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Die 1970er Jahre

Die 1970er Jahre sollten ein Jahrzehnt des Terrors sein und großen Einfluss auf die Kampfschwimmerkompanie haben.
Am 5. September 1972 drangen acht Mitglieder der palästinensischen Terrororganisation „Schwarzer September“ in das Olympische Dorf in München ein. Sie nahmen elf Geiseln. Im Zuge einer Befreiungsaktion durch die bayrische Polizei starben alle Geiseln, drei der Entführer überlebten. Am 26. September 1972,also 21 Tage nach München, wurde die zweite deutsche Spezialeinheit gegründet, die Grenzschutzgruppe 9 (GSG9).

Einige Zeit nach der Aufstellung besuchte eine Delegation von Grenzschutzbeamten, darunter ihr erster Kommandeur und mit ihrem Aufbau beauftragte OTL/Polizeidirektor (BGS) Ulrich Wegener, die Kampfschwimmerkompanie. Man informierte sich über Auftrag, Ausrüstung und Taktiken. Wegener strebte den Aufbau eines maritimen Anteils bei der GSG9 an. Der Aufbau dieses amphibischen Zuges der GSG9 wurde maßgeblich von der Kampfschwimmerkompanie unterstützt. Die GSG9 schickt jährlich Beamte zur Tauchausbildung in die Ausbildungsinspektion nach Eckernförde und mindestens einmal im Jahr findet eine wassergestützte Anti-Terrorübung zusammen mit den Kampfschwimmern statt. Grundlage hierfür ist eine interministerielle Übereinkunft zur gegenseitigen Unterstützung bei Ausbildung und Ausrüstung, die 1980 durch den damaligen Innenminister und den Verteidigungsminister beschlossen wurde.

Ein weiteres Ereignis sollte die Entwicklung der Einheit vorantreiben. Der Befehlshaber der Flotte war zu einem ganztägigen Besuch in der Kampfschwimmerkompanie. Er überzeugte sich von deren Fähigkeiten (Die NATO war an die Bundesmarine mit der Frage nach der Einsatzfähigkeit der Kampfschwimmer herangetreten.). Daraufhin nahmen die Kampfschwimmer vermehrt an NATO-Übungen teil. Unter anderem mit Dänen, Franzosen und Engländern. Verstärkt wurde die Zusammenarbeit mit den 10th Special Forces der Amerikaner in Bad Tölz und besonders mit den US Navy SEALs, die ein SEAL-Detachment auf Kreta betrieben.

Die Deutschen profitierten sehr von den Erfahrungen der Amerikaner im kombinierten Landkampf, also die Annäherung von See, über Flüsse und Übergang zu Operationen an Land, wie zum Beispiel in Vietnam. 1973 besuchten die ersten SEALs Eckernförde/Carlshöhe. Unter ihnen Pete Wikul, der 2009 als aktiver Navy SEAL im Dienstrang eines Kapitäns zur See pensioniert wurde. Für die SEALs stand die deutsche Unterwasserfähigkeit im Vordergrund, die sie gerade durch den Vietnamkrieg vernachlässigt hatten. Besonders das Tauchen mit dem LAR II, dem Kreislaufgerät der Firma Dräger, beeindruckte die Amerikaner. In Folge dessen wurden beide SEAL Teams mit dem Gerät ausgestattet und 1975 ein Personalaustauschprogramm mit dem SEAL Team TWO, das bis heute Bestand hat, ins Leben gerufen. Die SEAL Teams und Special Boat Teams sind ebenfalls seitdem mindestens einmal im Jahr zu Gast in Eckernförde.

Aus vornehmlich Platzgründen verlegte die Kompanie am 1. Oktober 1974 von der Kaserne Carlshöhe in die in den 1960er Jahren gebaute Kaserne Eckernförde – NORD, in der für Material und Ausrüstung entsprechend Platz geschaffen wurde. Im neuen Gebäude konnte die Kompanie zusätzlich mit einem Ausbildungszug, die Stabsgruppe mit einem Stabsarzt und einem Fallschirmprüfer aufgestockt werden. Besonders mit dieser Umgliederung zeichnete die Kompanie für die Ausbildung neuer Kampfschwimmer eigenverantwortlich und konnte bedingt durch die neu gebaute Taucherübungshalle an einem Standort zusammengefasst werden. Auch der Auftrag wurde spezifiziert. U. a. hieß es: Kampfschwimmereinsatz gegen Schiffe, Docks, Hafenanlagen, Schleusen usw. soweit marinetaktisch wichtig, Stranderkundung einschließlich der Erkundung des Hinterlandes, besondere Kampfaufträge über und unter Wasser sowie an Land.

Die 1970er Jahre waren für die Kompanie ein Jahrzehnt der Neuausrichtung. Das Erlernen von Landkampftaktiken stellte die Weichen für eine neue aktivere Rolle im Rahmen der Verteidigungsplanung des Flottenkommandos. Die Kampfschwimmer sollten als Seekriegsmittel offensive Kampfaufträge zugeteilt bekommen. Auftrag, Fähigkeiten sowie Gliederung entsprachen im Grundsatz den Forderungen an moderne Spezialkräfte. Die Kampfschwimmer traten aktiv in das Bewusstsein der Flotte und sollten als offensives Seekriegsmittel der Marine genutzt werden. Der Kompanie wurden Angriffsziele im Falle des drohenden OST-WEST- Konflikts zugewiesen. Hauptsächlich handelte es sich hierbei um Ziele auf den Territorium der ehemaligen DDR. Die Kampfschwimmer wurden für Aufträge vorgesehen, bei denen eine Lagebeurteilung vor Ort zwingend notwendig war. Andernfalls hätte ein Jagdbomber dieselbe Wirkung erzielen können. Zum Teil waren bis zu 30 Kilometer Anmarschweg in das Landesinnere vorgesehen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.