Die Rolle der Kampfschwimmer

Kampfschwimmer are Special Operations Forces (SOF) of the German navy. Their mission is to conduct special operations missions in the maritime environment in support of German armed forces operations. (Maritime) special operations fall into three categories: Special Reconnaisance, Direct Action, and Support Operations.

To master these mission categories, Kampschwimmer receive triphibian training. In other words, their operational environment includes the sea, the air and land. They are trained to traverse their operations zone above and under water (in boats, swimming, diving), through the air (aircraft or parachute), and on land (vehicles or on foot). Because of the enormous demands placed on SOF, the personnel is chosen with great care, then specially trained, organized and equipped.

Their training takes three years and includes military diving (where they learn to egress from submerged submarines and covertly approach their target over long distances); ranger training; survival training; and parachute training. They receive intense demolitions training, both for overcoming access barriers and for destroying important targets. They learn to use all weapons in the German armed forces’ arsenal as well as many foreign weapons (including those of potential enemies). To qualify them to safely operate utility vehicles, wheeled armored vehicles, quads and motorcyces, they receive special driver’s training as well as training in boat operations. Every successful graduate of Kampfschwimmer training is assigned to the Kampfschwimmer company where he receives specialist training, e.g. as a combat medic, sharpshooter, communications specialist or demolition specialist.

Because of this broad-based capabilities-/operational spectrum, Kampfschwimmer are constantly training, both within and outside Germany. This is necessary to retain their capability of deploying at any time, within hours of getting the call, to conduct any mission that falls within their capabilities spectrum. To ensure they can react on short notice the Kampfschwimmer have their own command and support elements as well as direct tactical support forces. The direct tactical support forces consist of a dedicated special boat unit called the Einsatzgruppe See (EinGrpSee) or “maritime operations group”.
The EinsGrpSee is composed of select recruits from the Boatswain’s Mate and Propulsion Engineering career fields. These sailors receive special training and equipment in order to qualify for the EinsGrpSee. Their boats include jet-propelled Rigid-Hull Inflatable Boats (RHIB), which are noted for their low draft, high speed, firepower, and maneuverability.

The Kampfschwimmer were established in 1959 and are Germany’s oldest special operations force. The Kampfschwimmer Company was activated as an operational unit in 1964. The Company has repeatedly proven its operational worth in recent and ongoing missions such as the European Union’s anti-piracy Operation ATALANTA, Operation Enduring Freedom, or as part of the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan. At sea or far inland, they have made a robust, visible (or invisible, as far as the enemy is concerned) operational contribution in the name of the German navy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Die Rolle der Kampfschwimmer

Kampfschwimmer sind die Spezialkräfte der Marine. Ihr Auftrag ist es durch Spezialoperationen im maritimen Umfeld die Einsätze der Bundeswehr zu unterstützen. (Maritime) Spezialkräfteopertionen gliedern sich in die drei Einsatzarten Spezialaufklärung, Direkter Einsatz und Unterstützungseinsatz.

Um diese verschiedenen Einsatzarten zu beherrschen, sind Kampfschwimmer triphibisch ausgebildete Marinesoldaten. Ihr Einsatzraum bezieht also die See, die Luft und das Land mit ein. Sie sind ausgebildet, sich Über- und Unterwasser ( mit Booten, schwimmend oder tauchend), sich durch die Luft ( mit Luftfahrzeugen oder Fallschirmen) oder an Land ( mit Fahrzeugen oder zu Fuß) in ihren Einsatzraum zu bewegen. Aufgrund der hohen Anforderungen sind sie personell besonders sorgfältig ausgewählt, speziell ausgebildet und gegliedert. Sie nutzen spezielle Ausrüstungen für die Aufgabenerfüllung und Auftragsdurchführung.

Ihre Ausbildung dauert drei Jahre und beinhaltet neben dem militärischen Tauchen – bei dem sie lernen aus U-Booten auszutauchen und sich unerkannt auch über große Distanz an ihr Ziel zu bewegen – die Einzelkämpfer-, Überlebens- und die Fallschirmsprungausbildung. Um sich Zugang zu verschaffen oder besonders wichtige Einrichtungen zu zerstören, bekommen sie eine umfassende Sprengausbildung. Sie lernen das Bedienen aller Infanteriewaffen der Bundeswehr, aber auch der des Gegners in einer Fremdwaffenausbildung. Um sich im Einsatz sicher mit Geländewagen, Gepanzerten Radfahrzeugen, Quads und Motorädern bewegen zu können, erhalten sie ein spezielles Kraffahrzeug- sowie, für den maritimen Einsatz, Boot-Fahrtraining. Jeder fertig ausgebildete Kampfschwimmer durchläuft in der Kampfschwimmerkompanie zusätzlich eine
Spezialisierung wie zum Beispiel: Rettungssanitäter, Scharfschütze, Fermelder, Spreng- und Zugangstechniker.

Aufgrund dieses breiten Fähigkeits- und Einsatzspektrums trainieren die Kampfschwimmer ständig im In- und Ausland. Dies ist notwendig um mit diese spezifischen Einsatzarten und Einsatzverfahren jeder Zeit und in nur wenigen Stunden für Einsätze der Bundeswehr bereit zu stehen. Um auf eine kurze Vorwarnzeit zu reagieren, verfügen die Kampfschwimmer über ein eigenes Führungs- und Unterstützungselemente sowie Kräfte zur direkten taktischen Unterstützung. Diese direkte taktische Unterstützung besteht aus einer eigenen Bootseinheit, der Einsatzgruppe See (EinGrpSee).

Die EinsGrpSee rekrutiert sich aus speziell ausgesuchten, ausgebildeten und ausgerüsteten Unteroffizieren der Verwendungsreihe 11 (Decksdienst) und 42 (Schiffsantriebstechnik). Ihre Boote sind u.a. jetangetriebene Festrumpf-Schlauchboote Rigid Hull Inflatable Boats (RHIB), die sich durch ihren geringen Tiefgang, hohe Geschwindigkeit, Feuerkraft und Manövrierbarkeit auszeichnen.

Mit Aufbau der Fähigkeit Kampfschwimmer 1959 und der Aufstellung der Kampfschwimmerkompanie 1964 sind die Kampfschwimmer die älteste Spezialeinheit Deutschlands. Ihre Einsatzfähigkeit hat die Kampfschwimmerkompanie, mehrfach in den aktuellen Einsätzen – ATALANTA, Operation Enduring Freedom oder als Teil der International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan – auch fernab vom Meer für die eigenen Kräfte als robuster, operativ sichtbarer und für den Gegner unsichtbarer Beitrag der Deutschen Marine gezeigt.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.